Sixteenth General Meeting of the Cameronians in 1698

16 General Meeting at Friarminnan, 29 July, 1698.

William Stuart in Galloway ‘is allowed to frequent the [general] meeting as formerly’.

The committee was elected:
Sir Robert Hamilton.
Mr. James Kid [for the Lothians].
Mr. Charles Umpherston [in Pentland].
John Robson.
James Cran [for Lanarkshire].
Robert Hamilton [for Lanarkshire].
John Muirhead. [Who knew Peden and Patrick Walker?]
Robert Maxwell [for Renfrewshire].
Robert Speirs [in Bo’ness]
John Glover [perhaps from Barrshill, Tinwald parish?]
John Hanlon[?] [for Lanarkshire].
James Hewitson [perhaps from Closeburn parish?].

Return to Homepage

Text © Copyright Dr Mark Jardine. All Rights Reserved. Please feel free link to this post on Facebook or other social networks or retweet it, but do not reblog in FULL without the express permission of the author @drmarkjardine

~ by drmarkjardine on June 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.