The Scottish Parliament that Opposed James VII in 1686 #History

Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament of 1686 opposed King James VII’s attempts to introduce an act granting a liberty for Catholics from the penal laws. As a result, in the following year, James used his absolute status to issue edicts of toleration that encompassed both Catholics and moderate presbyterians. The Society people, or militant Covenanters, were expressly excluded from King James’s edicts of toleration.

The parliamentary opposition to the King’s liberty in 1686 came as a surprise to James Renwick and probably many other Society people. Since 1682 they had rejected the authority of what they termed a perjured and prelimited parliament. In their view, the parliament of 1685 had only confirmed their reasons for rejecting its authority, as it had been fully compliant with James VII’s demands and tightened their persecution.

One reason for their surprise in 1686 may have been that little had changed from the elections of the previous year. Looked at from the ground in the five western shires where the Societies were strongest, almost nothing had changed in terms of the representation that came from the West. (RPS, 1686/4/2.)

William Douglas, duke of Hamilton (Nobles)
James Douglas, marquis of Douglas (Nobles)
John Dalzell, earl of Carnwath (Nobles)
John Hamilton, lord Belhaven (Nobles)
Alexander Stewart, lord Blantyre (Nobles)
Sir George Lockhart of Carnwath (Shire)
Cromwell Lockhart of Lee (Shire)
John Johnston of Clauchrie (Burgh of Glasgow)
James Weir (Burgh of Lanark)

No change from 1685.

John Cunningham, earl of Glencairn (Nobles)
William Ross, lord Ross (Nobles)

Alan Cathcart, Lord Cathcart (Nobles)

William Hamilton, laird of Orbiston (Shire)
John Houston, laird of Houston, younger (Shire)
Robert Hall of Fulbar (Burgh of Renfrew)

No change from 1685 with the exception of the addition of Alan Cathcart, Lord Cathcart, under the nobles.

Alexander Montgomery, earl of Eglinton (Nobles)
John Hamilton, lord Bargany (Nobles)
William Blair, laird of Blair (Shire)
Robert Hunter (Burgh of Ayr)

No change from 1685.

Wigtownshire (Galloway):
William Coltrane of Drummorall (Burgh of Wigtown)
David Forrester (Burgh of Whithorn)
Patrick Paterson (Burgh of Stranraer)

For some reason the shire representatives for Wigtownshire do not appear on the list of those sederunt. The rest of the list is unchanged from 1685.

Kirkcudbrightshire (Galloway):
Alexander Gordon, viscount of Kenmure (Nobles)
Hugh Wallace of Ingliston (Shire)
John Callander replaced Henry Muir for the (Burgh of Kirkcudbright)
Robert Alexander (Burgh of New Galloway)

One change from 1685.

William Johnston, earl of Annandale (Nobles)
William Crichton, earl of Dumfries (Nobles)
Sir Robert Dalziel of Glenae (Shire)
Sir Robert Grierson of Lag (Shire)
William Fingask (Burgh of Dumfries)
Bryce Blair (Burgh of Annan)
Thomas Kennedy of Halleaths (Burgh of Lochmaben)
Robert Carmichael of Corp (Burgh of Sanquhar)

No change from 1685.

Return to Homepage

Text © Copyright Dr Mark Jardine. All Rights Reserved. Please link to this post on Facebook or other social networks or retweet it, but do not reblog in FULL without the express permission of the author @drmarkjardine

~ by drmarkjardine on October 13, 2015.

One Response to “The Scottish Parliament that Opposed James VII in 1686 #History”

  1. […] seat in the Scottish parliament of 1681. Lockhart also sat James VII’s parliaments of 1685 and 1686, but in 1689 he supported the Williamite Revolution. (RPS, 1681/7/2, 1685/4/2, 1686/4/2, […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.